Book Feature, Book Review
Leave a Comment

Book Review ~ The Sunken Realm by Serena Chase

About the Book


She is an outcast among knights
Her reputation in ruins, her knighthood revoked, and her future bleak, Erielle de Gladiel would have welcomed death as her due. Captured by pirates, she was beaten, whipped, branded a thief—and worse—and then set adrift to die. She did not expect—or even want—to be rescued. Especially not by the dashing blasted pirate now calling himself her husband.

He is the King of Pirates
His oath satisfied and his Legacy secured, Cazien vows vengeance on all who harmed Erielle. But before he can hunt them down, a strange visitor appears with an urgent message—a message that aligns with prophecy Erielle has written in her sleep: The Seahorse Pirates must reach Nirista before the famed Tournament of the Twelve . . . or hundreds of stolen children will die.

Together, they are relentless
With the fate of many resting upon them, Cazien and Erielle sail to Nirista. Once there, they are forced to follow separate paths to achieve their aims. Treacheries are uncovered and allies are gained, but in the shadows, a hidden foe plots a grievous betrayal that could shatter not only their hope, but the Seahorse Legacy itself.

The epic conclusion of this series-within-a series, The Sunken Realm sweeps Erielle and Cazien along a pulse-pounding voyage to discover all they are meant to become, together. Giving subtle nods to several fairy tales, including an unexpected twist to the story of The Twelve Dancing Princesses, this romantic YA pirate adventure is the final novel in the Eyes of E’veria series . . . but the Seahorse Pirates and their friends in E’veria may yet have stories to tell.




Young Adult (Y/A)


4.5 Stars

B-2-M Rating

MW- B2M Rating

Movie Worthy. Learn more.


The Sunken Realm is the conclusion of the Eyes of E’veria Series, and a good one, too! Though the first installment, The Ryn, began on a relatively soft and light note, the story throughout the course of the series, progressed to a much darker fantasy, so that The Sunken Realm was bittersweet in some parts of it. The end, however, was a fitting finish to this awesome story.

I have to applaud Chase’s imagination—quite stellar, captivating, and innovative (considering it was a retelling of The Twelve Dancing Princesses, but in a unique way, with a unique twist.) I loved watching Erielle and Cazien mature so gracefully, learning to pick up the pieces of their broken lives and dreams ever so quickly, while holding onto hope for a brighter future.

The Sunken Realm is a story of triumph of good over evil, despite  harsh afflictions; it’s a story of undying hope in dire situations/circumstances; and it’s a story of new beginnings, love and the strengthening of old friendships, even while new ones are being made!

Though some parts of it pierced my heart, overall, I enjoyed reading it, and of course, I recommend it!

*Though I offer this review to the public, it’s my opinion and simply that. My appreciation to Serena Chase, the author, for a free copy in exchange for my honest opinion*

Related Reviews: The Ryn, The Remedy, The Seahorse Legacy

About the Author

Serena Chase 2Serena Chase released her first two novels in the Eyes of E’veria series, THE RYN and THE REMEDY, in 2013. Book 3, THE SEAHORSE LEGACY, was released May, 2014.
Serena lives in Iowa with her husband, two daughters, and a white goldendoodle named Albus, who looks like a giant teddy bear, but acts like a derailed freight train on crack most of the time.
A frequent contributor to USA Today’s Happy Ever After blog, and a co-blogger at Edgy Inspirational Romance, Serena is also known for living vicariously through her ever-changing hair, and for being a bit obsessed with fairy tales and pirates.
You can like Serena on Facebook, view her Eyes of E’veria board on Pinterest, or follow her on twitter and instagram.

THE RYN began an expanded re-imagining of the classic Grimm fairy tale, Snow White & Rose Red, which was concluded in its sequel, THE REMEDYTHE SEAHORSE LEGACY begins Serena’s retelling of The Twelve Dancing Princesses, which concluded in Eyes of E’veria, book 4, THE SUNKEN REALM, released 2015.

Leave a Comment

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.