Author Feature, Book Feature, Book Review, Dystopian, Inspirational, Young Adult

Book Review ~ Other Bodies By Joel Ohman

About the Book


For fans of The Hunger Games, The Maze Runner, and Divergent comes a YA dystopian/light romance with a strong female protagonist who is forced to question everything…

In a world where immersive VR suits distort what is real from what is not, and the AI Personhood Act blurs the lines between body and bot, the choices sixteen-year-old Hattie Martins faces are very personal.

Welcome to Hattie Martins’ dystopian Philadelphia, where everything is not as it seems…

Just as her life is looking up–a new job, new friends, a new date–Hattie discovers not all progress in her beloved, futuristic Philadelphia is for the best. Societal regrets can become personal regrets in an instant. Choices don’t always come with second chances, and when they do the cost can be unimaginable. How far will she go to undo her greatest regret? And worse yet, what will she become if it’s too late?

In a world where bots are equal to bodies, what does it mean to be alive?

What is real?

Which bodies matter?

What about the other bodies?…

In this blistering new young adult novel from the #1 bestselling author of the Meritropolis series, readers will question everything they know about life and reality in a unique dystopian adventure that is equal parts moral dilemma and romance.

For fans who enjoy similar works from authors such as Veronica Roth, James Dashner, and Suzanne Collins!


Category

Inspirational/Fiction/Young Adult

Genre

Dystopian/Romance

Rating

3.5 Stars

Review


Other Bodies is a story that depicts the journey of Hattie Martins, a heroine who’s found herself in a semi-violent environment where most must do what they can to survive: Jobs are scarce. Gangs rule. And real love is rarer than the dream of a good life. With a past that haunts her and won’t let go, her present circumstance changes for the better with the future looking promising until a sudden discovery presents one that is born out of a bad choice with consequences and a reality skewedly underplayed by society and other parties involved.

Social issues such as abortion, feminism, teenage pregnancy, assisted suicide, reproductive rights, and classicism, as well as emotional issues like heartbreak, loneliness, and casual sex play a role in platforming the theme of the story—Jesus gave His body for “other bodies,”  and so we are called too to sometimes give up convenience of our bodies for a time for others too. In making a case for prolife (and against assisted suicide and racism), “other bodies are not your body including the one inside you; if you believe all bodies are equal, then that equality extends to the one inside you.” The author emphasized this in his note to readers:

“It is reasonable for society to expect an adult to live temporarily with an inconvenience if the only alternative is doing permanent and fatal harm to another innocent human body. But what about rape, incest, and disability? Since none of these circumstances are sufficient to justify harming another innocent body after birth, they are not sufficient to harming an innocent body before birth.”

Overall, Other Bodies is a gripping story that boldly looks the current social issues in the eye without flinching and digs its heels in.

*Though I offer this review to the public, it is my opinion and simply that. A thank you to Flyby Promotions and Propeller LLC for a free copy in exchange for my honest opinion.

About Joel Ohman


Joel Ohman lives in Tampa, FL with his wife Angela and their three kids. His writing companion is Caesar, a slightly overweight Bull Mastiff who loves to eat the tops off of strawberries.

Joel is the author of the #1 bestselling Meritropolis series—“The Hunger Games meets The Village with a young Jack Reacher as a protagonist” and the new YA release, Other Bodies.

For FREE giveaways and VIP access to pre-release books, gift cards, and special announcements, join the Joel Ohman Reader’s Group now at JoelOhman.com!

Advertisements