Adult Fiction, Author Feature, Bible, Book Feature, Book Review, Fiction, Historical, Inspirational, Romance, Scripture-inspired, Stories

Book Review ~ The King’s Mercy By Lori Benton

About the Book


For readers of Sara Donati and Diana Gabaldon, this epic historical romance tells of fateful love between an indentured Scotsman and a daughter of the 18th century colonial south.

When captured rebel Scotsman Alex MacKinnon is granted the king’s mercy–exile to the Colony of North Carolina–he’s indentured to Englishman Edmund Carey as a blacksmith. Against his will Alex is drawn into the struggles of Carey’s slaves–and those of his stepdaughter, Joanna Carey. A mistress with a servant’s heart, Joanna is expected to wed her father’s overseer, Phineas Reeves, but finds herself drawn instead to the new blacksmith. As their unlikely relationship deepens, successive tragedies strike the Careys. When blame falls unfairly upon Alex he flees to the distant mountains where he encounters Reverend Pauling, itinerate preacher and friend of the Careys, now a prisoner of the Cherokees. Haunted by his abandoning of Joanna, Alex tries to settle into life with the Cherokees, until circumstances thwart yet another attempt to forge his freedom and he’s faced with the choice that’s long hounded him: continue down his rebellious path or embrace the faith of a man like Pauling, whose freedom in Christ no man can steal. But the price of such mercy is total surrender, and perhaps Alex’s very life.

Category

Religious/Christian/Adult Fiction

Genre

Historical Romance

Rating

4 Stars

Review


In an adventurous tale Scripture-inspired by the Book of Philemon, Benton spins a heart-throbbing story of love, indenture, slavery, and malicious shrewdness that keeps a reader at the edge of their seat. The page-turning suspense is remarkably paced with such skillful excellence that, the intent to entertainment is well balanced with the objective to spiritually inspire/motivate. With thoughfully plotted stories like The King’s Mercy, it’s no surprise that Benton’s work gets the recognition that it does.

The King’s Mercy is a story of second chances, new beginnings and forgiveness where trust has been broken. A lovely book to close the summer with.

*Though I offer this review to the public, it is my opinion and simply that. Much appreciation to Waterbrook Multnomah for a free copy in exchange for an honest opinion. 

About the Author


Lori Benton was raised east of the Appalachian Mountains, surrounded by early American history going back three hundred years. Her novels transport readers to the eighteenth century, where she expertly brings to life the colonial and early federal periods of American history. She is the author of Burning Sky, recipient of three Christy Awards; The Pursuit of Tamsen Littlejohn; Christy finalist The Wood’s Edge; A Flight of Arrows; and Christy finalist Many Sparrows. She lives in Oregon.