All posts filed under: Author Feature

Book Review ~ Rise of the Servant Kings: What the Bible Says about Being a Man By Ken Harrison

About the Book The “how-to-get-it-right” book for today’s Christian man–in marriage, family, work, friendships, with God in all of life.  Men are hungry for authenticity and for sound and bold biblical teaching on true masculinity. Every day men ask themselves questions about how to be better fathers, husbands, friends, and men, but it’s difficult to find satisfying answers. Rise of the Servant Kings explains that true masculinity is found in absolute surrender to God, which always results in humble character and is expressed in courage and generosity. When a man truly understands God’s desires, he will naturally express godly masculinity, Ken Harrison weaves together his experiences as a police officer in one of the deadliest areas of the country, with many years as a business executive and ministry leader, to share deep truths for men direct from God’s Word. Category Religious/Christian/Non-fiction Genre Christian Living/Motivational/Men Rating 5 Stars Review Rise of the Servant Kings is a book with topics that cover much of the areas of a man’s life, and it it digs deep and holds up the …

Book Review ~ Tossed Together By Heather Manning

About the Book Lady Aimee Dawson is the perfect picture of an English society lady—except when she is around Captain Emery, who simply makes her want to scream. Much to her dismay, she finds herself stranded in Port Royal with the man. As if her week could not get any worse, she is stolen by a group of pirates who want to sell her at an auction. Captain Matthew Emery is a merchant man, but all he really wants to do is become a missionary. His plans take a turn, however, when he finds a group of pirates attempting to auction off Aimee. The only way Matthew can think to save her is to claim she is his betrothed—something he had never thought would come out of his mouth. Much to Matthew and Aimee’s chagrin, the pirates agree to let Aimee go free, on one condition: she must marry Matthew right then and there to prove they were truly betrothed. Left with no other options, the two sworn enemies exit the tavern as man and …

Book Review ~ Test Of Faith: Surviving My Daughter’s Life Sentence By Bonnie S. Hirst

About the Book Bonnie S. Hirst is a woman of faith who has always believed that everything in life works out for the best. So, when her daughter, Lacey, is accused of a terrible crime, although Bonnie is devastated, she is also convinced that God will protect her family from harm. He always has, after all. But when her prayers are not answered and Lacey is sentenced to life in prison, Bonnie questions every aspect of her existence: her beliefs, her role as a mother, and the purpose behind the events that are tearing her family apart. As Bonnie and her family navigate the complicated labyrinth of the legal system, she struggles with the duality of presenting a façade of being okay on the outside and screaming for air on the inside. Finally, she is guided to ask for help—a concept previously foreign to her—and is rewarded with a bubble of friends who surround her and her family with love. Poignant, hopeful, and ultimately uplifting, Test of Faith is the story of one mother’s spiritual journey …

Book Review ~ Reforesting Faith: What Trees Teach Us About the Nature of God and His Love for Us By Matthew Sleeth, MD

About the Book What Do Trees Reveal About God, Faith, and the Future of Everything? More Than You Ever Imagined. Join Dr. Matthew Sleeth as he explores the Bible’s trail of trees and reveals the wonders of life, death, and rebirth. You’ll be amazed at how science is just beginning to catch up to the truths described in Scripture thousands of years ago. Once you discover the hidden language of trees, your walk through the woods—and through Scripture—will never be same. Fifteen years ago, Matthew Sleeth was an atheist who believed that science and logic held the answers to everything. But when tragedy struck, he opened the Bible for the first time and was surprised to find that God chose to tell the story of creation, sin, and redemption through a trail of trees. In this groundbreaking walk through Scripture, Dr. Sleeth convincingly makes the case for why trees are essential to every Christian’s understanding of God. There’s a tree on the first page of Genesis and on the last page of Revelation. The Bible …

Author Scoop ~ Interview With Bonnie S. Hirst

I am glad to introduce to you author, Bonnie S. Hirst, the woman who bravely faced the trauma of watching her daughter go to prison with a life sentence, and still found a reason to love God back for seeing her through her toughest season. Faced with raising her daughter’s kids, this and many other blessings, set Bonnie on a path to healing so much that she wrote her testimony, sharing it in her new book, Test of Faith: Surviving My Daughter’s Life Sentence, releasing September 24th. For Bonnie’s story and journey, take a look below. Miranda ~ Hello and welcome, Bonnie! Glad to have you on TBAP today. Could you please tell us a bit about yourself? Bonnie: I am a wife, mother, grandmother, daughter, sister, and friend. All of those relationships nurture me. I enjoy being outside, especially near water. I can sit for hours on our deck overlooking a small lake and watch hummingbirds flit between my feeders, or watch a squirrel scurry up the tree. One of my favorite pastimes is …

Book Review ~ The King’s Mercy By Lori Benton

About the Book For readers of Sara Donati and Diana Gabaldon, this epic historical romance tells of fateful love between an indentured Scotsman and a daughter of the 18th century colonial south. When captured rebel Scotsman Alex MacKinnon is granted the king’s mercy–exile to the Colony of North Carolina–he’s indentured to Englishman Edmund Carey as a blacksmith. Against his will Alex is drawn into the struggles of Carey’s slaves–and those of his stepdaughter, Joanna Carey. A mistress with a servant’s heart, Joanna is expected to wed her father’s overseer, Phineas Reeves, but finds herself drawn instead to the new blacksmith. As their unlikely relationship deepens, successive tragedies strike the Careys. When blame falls unfairly upon Alex he flees to the distant mountains where he encounters Reverend Pauling, itinerate preacher and friend of the Careys, now a prisoner of the Cherokees. Haunted by his abandoning of Joanna, Alex tries to settle into life with the Cherokees, until circumstances thwart yet another attempt to forge his freedom and he’s faced with the choice that’s long hounded him: …

Author Scoop ~ Interview With Freelance Wall Street Journal Journalist, Cheryl Stritzel McCarthy

Cheryl Stritzel McCarthy is a freelance journalist for the Wall Street Journal, the Los Angeles Times and the Chicago Tribune, who grew up with eight siblings in a delightful Victorian house in 60s and 70s. With the release of her new book, a memoir, Many Hands Make Light, Cheryl shows fun family life and many memorable and laughable moments that offer insight to raising kids in today’s world. Cheryl took the time to share bits of her story with TBAP today. Take a look! Miranda ~ Hello and welcome, Cheryl! Glad to have you on TBAP today. Could you please tell us a bit about yourself? Cheryl: Miranda, thanks for having me. About myself: My memoir, Many Hands Make Light Work, is the rollicking tale of growing up in our family of nine children in the ‘60s and ‘70s in a Midwest college town, in an old Victorian house in the middle of fraternity row. I’m the sixth of those nine kids. Our dad was an eccentric professor who tried to make extra money by …