All posts filed under: Author Feature

Book Review ~ Mercy By Eniola Prentice

About the Book Broken. Drowning. Desperate. Lost. When the lives and hearts of four friends start to crumble, can God’s mercy reach them still? In her second year of medical school, Fadesola (Sola) Cardoso faces an impossible choice: stay with her longtime boyfriend, the one who knows her darkest secrets and loves her anyway, or move forward with Ladi, the man who gives her hope for an unstained future. Even as she wrestles with her options, life as a medical student becomes increasingly difficult—full of endless exams, stressful social activities, and reminders of a past that continues to haunt her. Ladi struggles with Sola’s divided loyalties while trying to maintain his perfect image as class president, promising student, and model Christian. But scandals inside and outside the lecture hall threaten to break apart the fragile peace once and for all between Ladi, Sola, and their friends Nikky and Tayo, who are fighting battles of their own. In this epic second installment in Eniola Prentice’s new-adult Still series, the faith of these four medical students will …

Author Scoop ~ Interview With Eniola Prentice

It’s my pleasure to present author, Eniola Prentice’s new book on TBAP today! I first discovered Eniola when she emailed me a few years ago about her new book then, Still, and ever since, she has remained on my heart. Mercy, the second book in the Still series, promises to be a delightful read and thrilling journey. Eniola took the time to tell us a bit about her journey in life and in writing the series. Take a look! Miranda ~ Hello Eniola! Delighted to have you visit TBAP today! Please tell us a bit about yourself that we don’t already know. Eniola: I am Edo and Yoruba, two different tribes from Nigeria. I am a recovering reality TV addict. I say “recovering” because I cannot resist watching Real Housewives of Beverly Hills. Miranda ~ Describe the moment that led you to make Jesus your personal Lord and Savior. Eniola: There wasn’t an exact moment. It was a gradual process of God drawing me closer. When I started medical school, I had a lot of …

Book Review ~ Hearts Set Free By Jess Lederman

About the Book In 1930, the rag-tag riffraff stop called Las Vegas need a fighting man to shepherd their tiny church after their pastor is murdered. Might David Gold, a washed-up boxer and Bible-school dropout who fights as the Pummelin’ Preacher, be the answer to their prayers? At the same time, Luke, a native Alaskan boy, is on quest to find his father, who has abandoned his family for a beautiful woman whom his mother vows to kill. Little do mother or son know that their journey will take them to a small town in Nevada where demons and angels walk among men. In 2011, Science Cable TV producer Tim Faber is determined to prove that mankind has no need of God, while his lover, Joan Reed, strives to regain the faith of her youth. They’re bound for Las Vegas to meet 99-year-old Luke, who holds the key to a mystery they must solve—and answers that will forever change their lives. Hearts Set Free weaves together these three tales of men and women who journey …

Book Review ~ Other Bodies By Joel Ohman

About the Book For fans of The Hunger Games, The Maze Runner, and Divergent comes a YA dystopian/light romance with a strong female protagonist who is forced to question everything… In a world where immersive VR suits distort what is real from what is not, and the AI Personhood Act blurs the lines between body and bot, the choices sixteen-year-old Hattie Martins faces are very personal. Welcome to Hattie Martins’ dystopian Philadelphia, where everything is not as it seems… Just as her life is looking up–a new job, new friends, a new date–Hattie discovers not all progress in her beloved, futuristic Philadelphia is for the best. Societal regrets can become personal regrets in an instant. Choices don’t always come with second chances, and when they do the cost can be unimaginable. How far will she go to undo her greatest regret? And worse yet, what will she become if it’s too late? In a world where bots are equal to bodies, what does it mean to be alive? What is real? Which bodies matter? What …

Book Review ~ The Way Of The Warrior: An Ancient Path To Inner Peace By Erwin Raphael McManus

About the Book Best-selling author, pastor, futurist, and cultural thought leader believes that to experience and establish peace, we must first confront the battles that rage within. McManus shows that encountering peace does not occur by accident, but rather by artful intention. Warrior is a call to decisiveness, self-examination, and the pursuit of spiritual wholeness. Through the ancient biblical practices of humility, focus, ownership, clarity, strength, and vulnerability, he guides readers to a deeper understanding of their inner workings and provides the guidance they need to establish peace and tranquility in their homes, neighborhoods, communities, and even the world! In the style of a battle-wizened teacher, McManus delivers wisdom, instills passion, and provides the sacred movements needed to become the warrior you were meant to be. Category Religious/Christian/Non-fiction Genre Christian Living Rating 4.5 Stars Review With an artful, poignant and compassionate voice, McManus leads with a message of what it truly means to be a warrior in our day. Worry. Anxiety. Fear. Doubt. All four disturb our peace and threaten true freedom. To fight and …

Book Review ~ American Omens By Travis Thrasher

About the Book “This is your wake-up call, Cheyenne. You’ve been sleeping your whole life, dreaming those dreams. The alarm clock is about to go off, and there won’t be any way to press the snooze button. So just keep walking. Keep breathing. And maybe start believing.” The year is 2038 and Cheyenne Burne is a brilliant young programmer working for Acatour, the world’s top technology firm. Her father converts to Christianity, and he suddenly disappears without trace. When a stranger hands Cheyenne a coded message that sends her on a collision course with a clandestine group of believers, she must put her life in the hands of those following a man known only as the Reckoner. He claims he wants to bring back true faith in Christ to America and also reveal the forces behind the disappearances of many of the renowned people who publicly declared their faith. Operating in the shadows and living off the grid, this mysterious prophet assembles a ragtag team, including a former bookseller whose store was shut down for …

Book Review ~ The Minimalist Home By Joshua Becker

About the Book Megablogger and international speaker, Joshua Becker, believes that minimalism isn’t about taking away from you. It’s about giving you something more. In this highly practical guide, Becker takes you on a decluttering tour through every space in your house so you can love coming home—and love going out to live your dreams. Here you’ll discover… How to tell your story through an inviting living room What your clothes closet has to do with your self-confidence Why less clutter in your bedroom helps you sleep better How to decide what paperwork to keep and what to throw out Which kitchen utensils are worth keeping How to involve your family in the minimalist adventure As Becker writes, “Minimalism doesn’t change you all by itself. It creates a context where it’s easier for you to change yourself.” Change starts one closet, one drawer, one room at a time. Change starts here. Category Non-fiction Genre House/Home Rating 4 Stars Review The Minimalist Home is not only a wonderful guide for reinventing your home and personal space …