All posts filed under: Author Feature

Book Review ~ The Way Of The Warrior: An Ancient Path To Inner Peace By Erwin Raphael McManus

About the Book Best-selling author, pastor, futurist, and cultural thought leader believes that to experience and establish peace, we must first confront the battles that rage within. McManus shows that encountering peace does not occur by accident, but rather by artful intention. Warrior is a call to decisiveness, self-examination, and the pursuit of spiritual wholeness. Through the ancient biblical practices of humility, focus, ownership, clarity, strength, and vulnerability, he guides readers to a deeper understanding of their inner workings and provides the guidance they need to establish peace and tranquility in their homes, neighborhoods, communities, and even the world! In the style of a battle-wizened teacher, McManus delivers wisdom, instills passion, and provides the sacred movements needed to become the warrior you were meant to be. Category Religious/Christian/Non-fiction Genre Christian Living Rating 4.5 Stars Review With an artful, poignant and compassionate voice, McManus leads with a message of what it truly means to be a warrior in our day. Worry. Anxiety. Fear. Doubt. All four disturb our peace and threaten true freedom. To fight and …

Book Review ~ American Omens By Travis Thrasher

About the Book “This is your wake-up call, Cheyenne. You’ve been sleeping your whole life, dreaming those dreams. The alarm clock is about to go off, and there won’t be any way to press the snooze button. So just keep walking. Keep breathing. And maybe start believing.” The year is 2038 and Cheyenne Burne is a brilliant young programmer working for Acatour, the world’s top technology firm. Her father converts to Christianity, and he suddenly disappears without trace. When a stranger hands Cheyenne a coded message that sends her on a collision course with a clandestine group of believers, she must put her life in the hands of those following a man known only as the Reckoner. He claims he wants to bring back true faith in Christ to America and also reveal the forces behind the disappearances of many of the renowned people who publicly declared their faith. Operating in the shadows and living off the grid, this mysterious prophet assembles a ragtag team, including a former bookseller whose store was shut down for …

Book Review ~ Of Fire And Lions (Prophets And Kings, #2) By Mesu Andrews

About the Book The Old Testament book of Daniel comes to life in this novel for readers of Lynn Austin’s Chronicles of the Kings series or Francine Rivers’ Mark of the Lion series. Survival. A Hebrew girl first tasted it when she escaped death nearly seventy years ago as the Babylonians ransacked Jerusalem and took their finest as captives. She thought she’d perfected in the many years amongst the Magoi and the idol worshippers, pretending with all the others in King Nebuchadnezzar’s court. Now, as Daniel’s wife and a septuagenarian matriarch, Belili thinks she’s safe and she can live out her days in Babylon without fear–until the night Daniel is escorted to Belshazzar’s palace to interpret mysterious handwriting on a wall. The Persian Army invades, and Bellili’s tightly-wound secrets unfurl with the arrival of the conquering army. What will the reign of Darius mean for Daniel, a man who prays to Yahweh alone? Ultimately, Yahweh’s sovereign hand guides Jerusalem’s captives, and the frightened Hebrew girl is transformed into a confident woman, who realizes her need …

Book Review ~ The Minimalist Home By Joshua Becker

About the Book Megablogger and international speaker, Joshua Becker, believes that minimalism isn’t about taking away from you. It’s about giving you something more. In this highly practical guide, Becker takes you on a decluttering tour through every space in your house so you can love coming home—and love going out to live your dreams. Here you’ll discover… How to tell your story through an inviting living room What your clothes closet has to do with your self-confidence Why less clutter in your bedroom helps you sleep better How to decide what paperwork to keep and what to throw out Which kitchen utensils are worth keeping How to involve your family in the minimalist adventure As Becker writes, “Minimalism doesn’t change you all by itself. It creates a context where it’s easier for you to change yourself.” Change starts one closet, one drawer, one room at a time. Change starts here. Category Non-fiction Genre House/Home Rating 4 Stars Review The Minimalist Home is not only a wonderful guide for reinventing your home and personal space …

Book Review ~ Holy Sexuality and the Gospel: Sex, Desire, and Relationships Shaped By God’s Grand Story By Dr. Christopher Yuan

Category Religious/Christian/Non-fiction Genre Christian Living/Sexuality Rating 4.5 Stars Review Holy Sexuality—coined to explain God’s view on matters about human sexuality, from desire to marriage and everything in-between, Dr. Christopher Yuan dives into the sensitive topics of gay sexuality, singleness, marriage and how it relates to the church and the church’s approach to dealing with the gay community. This is an exceptional read that will help Christians to better understand God’s Word on these matters, which will lead to better lovingly approaching their gay loved ones in a manner that truly honors God, embraces them, and yields fruit. Holy Sexuality is deep, thorough, and forthright and provides an excellent roadmap to navigating issues of homosexuality, singleness, and desire as a whole. This isn’t a book just for Christians with Gay loved ones; it’s for the Church. A book truly birthed at a time the Church needs it the most. About the Author Dr. Christopher Yuan has taught at Moody Bible Institute for more than ten years, and his speaking ministry on faith and sexuality has reached …

Artist Scoop ~ Interview with Music Artist, Screenwriter & Author, Tyler Russell

Meet the phenomenal Tyler Russell! Tyler is an author, screenwriter, and music artist who’s out to take the world by storm by letting God use him in a myriad of ways. Very passionate about life and his work for God, Tyler released a Christmas single in 2016, Santa Claus Is Coming To Town (find on apple & spotify), and a pop single this August, 2018, Now or Never (read the TBAP review here), written with fellow artist and friend, Zandy Fitzgerald of The New Respects, and took some time to talk to TBAP about it, as well as his story of faith, family, writing, and his take on life in general. Take a look! Miranda ~ Hello Tyler! Delighted to have you visit TBAP today! Please tell us a bit about yourself. Tyler: 
Thank you for having me. I am a west coast boy, born in LA and raised north of Portland, OR. I now live in Nashville, Tennessee. I am one of six children; three of my siblings were adopted from Haiti in 2000. I …

Scoop ~ Interview with GQ Model, Hollywood Actor & Author, John T. Prather

John T. Prather is an actor and model with a heart for God, passion for spreading the Word, and helping out kids in the foster care system. With roles in some successful TV series as well as being featured on major national magazines like GQ, People, and Men’s Health, success didn’t come easy for John as he often makes it clear the need to stand for Jesus no matter what. With his recent release of his debut novel, The Nephilim Virus—endorsed by Hollywood actress, Megan Fox, John is set to break new ground which he believes will open doors for Christians to spread the Word through stories that provide a crossover platform to accommodate both Christian and non-Christian readers. John stopped by on TBAP to talk about life, faith, his new book, as well as his work in Hollywood. Take a look! Miranda ~ Hello John! Delighted to have you visit TBAP today! Please tell us a bit about yourself that we don’t already know. John: Thank you for having me! Well, I’m married to …