All posts filed under: Bible

Movie Review ~ Before the Wrath

About the Movie Based on true discoveries from the time of Christ. While scholars debate the timing of the Rapture, the world has forgotten why this event is prophesied to occur in the first place; knowledge that was once understood by those in the first century. Today, researchers in the Middle-East have rediscovered ancient anthropological evidence that reveals how and why the Rapture must occur; unveiling new biblical insight that will reignite hope for believers and prepare the world for what’s coming. Narrated by Kevin Sorbo and featuring:  Jack Hibbs – Theologist and host of “Real Life” on SiriusXM Amir Tsarfati – Founder and President of Behold Israel Jan Markell – Founder of Olive Tree Ministries JD Farag – Theologist and Eschatologist Scott McConnell – Exec. Director of Lifeway Research Jay McCarl – Ancient Middle Eastern Anthropologist Lizette Dillinger – Qualitative Director of LifeWay Research To access the YouVersion 5 day reading Bible plan, visit this page.   Category Religious/Christian Genre Christianity/Christian Living/Rapture Rating 5 Stars Review Before the Wrath dives deeply into one of Christianity’s most profound mysteries, the Rapture, …

Bible Review ~ Beautiful Word Coloring Bible for Girls By Zondervan

Review The Beautiful Word Coloring NIV Bible is a wonderful gift set for preteen girls, made with the intention of creating a fun, enjoyable, and deeply spiritual experience while studying the Word of God. The features are designed for artistic activities that will create memorable experiences, which will help a reader more easily open their heart and mind as they study God’s Word. Features include: • Complete text of the accurate, readable and clear New International Version (NIV) • Over 600 verses illustrated in ready-to-color line art • Four colored pencils • Six sheets of stickers designed for girls • Thick white paper for writing and doodling • Lined, wide margins for notes and reflections • Satin ribbon marker • Beautifully debossed and screen-printed cover • Exclusive Zondervan NIV Comfort Print® typeface in a readable 8-point print size. *Though I offer this review to the public, it’s my opinion and simply that. My appreciation to Zondervan and Flyby Promotions for free copies in exchange for my honest opinion.

Book Review ~ Reforesting Faith: What Trees Teach Us About the Nature of God and His Love for Us By Matthew Sleeth, MD

About the Book What Do Trees Reveal About God, Faith, and the Future of Everything? More Than You Ever Imagined. Join Dr. Matthew Sleeth as he explores the Bible’s trail of trees and reveals the wonders of life, death, and rebirth. You’ll be amazed at how science is just beginning to catch up to the truths described in Scripture thousands of years ago. Once you discover the hidden language of trees, your walk through the woods—and through Scripture—will never be same. Fifteen years ago, Matthew Sleeth was an atheist who believed that science and logic held the answers to everything. But when tragedy struck, he opened the Bible for the first time and was surprised to find that God chose to tell the story of creation, sin, and redemption through a trail of trees. In this groundbreaking walk through Scripture, Dr. Sleeth convincingly makes the case for why trees are essential to every Christian’s understanding of God. There’s a tree on the first page of Genesis and on the last page of Revelation. The Bible …

Book Review ~ The King’s Mercy By Lori Benton

About the Book For readers of Sara Donati and Diana Gabaldon, this epic historical romance tells of fateful love between an indentured Scotsman and a daughter of the 18th century colonial south. When captured rebel Scotsman Alex MacKinnon is granted the king’s mercy–exile to the Colony of North Carolina–he’s indentured to Englishman Edmund Carey as a blacksmith. Against his will Alex is drawn into the struggles of Carey’s slaves–and those of his stepdaughter, Joanna Carey. A mistress with a servant’s heart, Joanna is expected to wed her father’s overseer, Phineas Reeves, but finds herself drawn instead to the new blacksmith. As their unlikely relationship deepens, successive tragedies strike the Careys. When blame falls unfairly upon Alex he flees to the distant mountains where he encounters Reverend Pauling, itinerate preacher and friend of the Careys, now a prisoner of the Cherokees. Haunted by his abandoning of Joanna, Alex tries to settle into life with the Cherokees, until circumstances thwart yet another attempt to forge his freedom and he’s faced with the choice that’s long hounded him: …

Book Review ~ Core 52: A Fifteen-minute Daily Guide To Build Your Bible IQ In A Year By Mark E. Moore

About the Book Build your Bible IQ and Christian worldview in just fifteen minutes a day! Over the course of a year, Core 52 will help you master the 52 most important passages in the Bible.    “You will gain the tools you need for living the life God has called you to.”—Kyle Idleman, pastor and author of Not a Fan  “For physical training is of some value, but godliness has value for all things, holding promise for both the present life and the life to come.”—1 Timothy 4:8  Most of us want to know the Bible better, but few reach our goal, often because we’re too busy or we don’t know where to start. Core 52 removes both barriers, offering a common-sense solution that fits into our busy lives. Respected Bible professor and teaching pastor Mark E. Moore developed this proven process from thirty-five years of helping people grow deeper in God’s Word. Each week features a brief essay, memory verse, Bible story, trajectory verses, and practical ways to put what you’ve learned into practice. An optional “Overachiever Challenge” …

Article ~ I Am Samson (Part 2) – The Power of God’s Redeeming Grace

  “Come boldly to the Throne of Grace and obtain mercy and grace in your time of need.” —Hebrews 4:16 Samson is named in what is popularly referred to as the “Hall of Faith” in Hebrews 11. While the first few names were listed along with the events in which their faith travailed, other names that followed were simply mentioned; Samson was one name in the latter group. Some people often wonder why Samson is called a hero of faith—Didn’t his story end tragically? How could such a tragic tale be inspiring to anyone? Well, Samson is listed as a hero because his faith highlighted the depths that God’s redeeming grace, which yearns to restore man, could reach no matter how deep the pit of despair and destruction. It’s astounding that despite the horrors that happened to Samson because of continued complacency, he dared to have the bold faith that would lead him to pray to God and say, “O Lord, God, remember me…” This speaks of a person who’d known God on a deeply …

Entertainment Scoop ~ Interview with Screenwriter & Executive TV/Film Producer, Reuben Evans

Reuben Evans is a brilliant screenwriter and the executive producer at Faithlife TV/Faithlife Films, and has been for over ten years. Reuben is also the head writer and script supervisor for the highly anticipated forthcoming Christmas comedy classic, The Farmer & the Belle, due for release Thanksgiving 2018. Reuben took some time to dive into his faith, personal life, and work as an executive producer of Christian TV/film. Take a look! Miranda ~ Hello Reuben! Honored to have you visit TBAP today. Please tell us a bit about yourself. Reuben: Great to be with you. I’m from the beautiful Pacific Northwest where I work as a filmmaker and Executive Producer for Faithlife TV/Faithlife Films. I’m married to my lovely wife, SaraAnn, and I’ve got four little kids. Miranda ~ How did you become a Christian? Reuben: I actually became a Christian at the age of eleven. I watched The Jesus Film and they gave an invitation to trust Christ at the end. I ended up kneeling beside the TV and accepted Christ. Miranda ~ In what way do you …