All posts filed under: Stories

Book Review ~ Shaped Notes: How Ordinary People With Extraordinary Gifts Influenced My Life and Career By Larnelle Harris with Christine Schaub

About the Book “My dad was a bootlegger. Believe or not, bootleggers go to church. Drug dealers and cartel kingpins go to church. That doesn’t make them Christians. Mom was praying Dad into the faith…praying for a change in his life and a change in ours…” The majestic tenor voice of Larnelle Harris has helped define a generation of contemporary Christian music. Most people know about Larnelle’s notable successes—his Grammy Awards, his Hall of Fame inductions, his #1 hit songs—but no one has heard the true story of how a little boy from the hills of Kentucky made his way to music’s most acclaimed stages and venues. His journey—from the son of a bootlegger to being the first gospel artist inside the Kremlin after the fall of the Soviet Union—is chronicled for the first time in this heart-felt memoir. From watching his father handcuffed and taken to jail to battling racial tensions to losing his voice and not knowing if he would ever sing again, Larnelle shares the most painful and triumphant moments of his …

Movie Review ~ I Still Believe By Kingdom Story Company & Distributed By Lionsgate

  About I Still Believe One love can change your life. One life can change the world. From the creators of I Can Only Imagine comes an inspiring love story for the ages. Rediscover the wonder of love in I STILL BELIEVE, based on the real-life story of chart-topping singer Jeremy Camp. Starring KJ Apa, Britt Robertson, Shania Twain, and Gary Sinise, I STILL BELIEVE is directed by Jon and Andrew Erwin, produced by Kevin Downes, with the screenplay by Jon Erwin and Jon Gunn. I STILL BELIEVE is a powerful reminder that in the midst of life’s storms, true hope can be found. Category Religious/Christian Genre Faith-based/Romance/Drama/ Release Date: IMAX March 11, 2020. Release Date: Theater March 13, 2020. Rating 4.5 Stars Review “The stars that shine the brightest, are the ones that live the shortest lives.” I Still Believe, the love story of Jeremy and Melissa Camp is anything but tragic. In a paradoxical sense, it is softly poignant in pointing out the awesomeness and beauty of God’s wisdom in awarding each of …

Scoop ~ Interview with Bestselling Author, Karen Kingsbury, & Music Artist/Screenwriter, Tyler Russell

Tyler Russell is no stranger on TBAP (read his 2018 exclusive interview here) and he and his mom, bestselling author of Christian Fiction, Karen Kingsbury, are no strangers to the Christian literary/entertainment audience either. They recently co-authored a book, Finding Home, a new addition to the dearly loved Baxter Family series, coming out this February 25th. Karen and Tyler graciously talked with TBAP and granted us a peek into the writing journey of this latest addition. Take a look! Miranda ~ Hello! Delighted to have you both visit TBAP today. Please tell us a bit about this latest book. Karen & Tyler: Thanks for having us! Our collection for 8-12 year olds, The Baxter Family Children follows the adventures, trials, and triumphs of the five young Baxter Siblings, Brooke, Kari, Ashley, Erin, and Luke. Finding Home is a companion to our book Best Family Ever, which finds the family relocating from Michigan to Bloomington. But a new move means new struggles. And through it all one question remains, will a new house ever become a …

Book Review ~ Something Needs to Change: A Call to Make Your Life Count in a World of Urgent Need By David Platt

About the Book USA TODAY, PUBLISHERS WEEKLY, AND ECPA BESTSELLER – The author of Radical takes readers on a soul-searching journey through impoverished villages in the Himalayan mountains, daring them to make a difference in a world of urgent need, starting right where they live. “Grippingly vulnerable and unforgettable. I could not put this book down.”–Ann Voskamp, author of One Thousand Gifts While leading a team on a week-long trek of the Himalayas, bestselling author and pastor David Platt was stunned by the human needs he encountered, an experience so dramatic that it “changed the trajectory of my life.” Meeting a man who’d lost his eye from a simple infection and seeing the faces of girls stolen from their families and trafficked in the cities, along with other unforgettable encounters, opened his eyes to the people behind the statistics and compelled him to wrestle with his assumptions about faith. In Something Needs to Change, Platt invites readers to come along on both the adventure of the trek, as well as the adventure of seeking answers to tough questions like, “Where is God in the …

Scoop ~ Interview with Music Artist, Alexandria Levin

Alexandria Levin is a beautiful soul with a heart for serving God and people through music. Her debut album, Amazed, scheduled to release January 17, 2020 by DREAM Label Group, tells the story of her experience walking with Jesus. Producing both an english and spanish version, Alexandria wants her listeners to experience fully the power of God’s love and presence as she has. Talking with TBAP today, Alexandria shares her faith and story. Take a look! Miranda ~ Hello Alexandria! Delighted to have you visit TBAP today! Please tell us a bit about yourself. Alex: I’m a mom of two boys, a wife of a Philadelphia Police Officer and I love to worship Jesus!! Miranda ~ Is there a special story on how you became a Christian? We’d like to know! Alex: I grew up in church since I was a baby. It’s all I’ve known. It wasn’t until I was an adult that I fully understood  that I was personally responsible for my relationship with the Lord. Going to church on Sundays and doing …

Book Review ~ Rise of the Servant Kings: What the Bible Says about Being a Man By Ken Harrison

About the Book The “how-to-get-it-right” book for today’s Christian man–in marriage, family, work, friendships, with God in all of life.  Men are hungry for authenticity and for sound and bold biblical teaching on true masculinity. Every day men ask themselves questions about how to be better fathers, husbands, friends, and men, but it’s difficult to find satisfying answers. Rise of the Servant Kings explains that true masculinity is found in absolute surrender to God, which always results in humble character and is expressed in courage and generosity. When a man truly understands God’s desires, he will naturally express godly masculinity, Ken Harrison weaves together his experiences as a police officer in one of the deadliest areas of the country, with many years as a business executive and ministry leader, to share deep truths for men direct from God’s Word. Category Religious/Christian/Non-fiction Genre Christian Living/Motivational/Men Rating 5 Stars Review Rise of the Servant Kings is a book with topics that cover much of the areas of a man’s life, and it it digs deep and holds up the …

Book Review ~ Test Of Faith: Surviving My Daughter’s Life Sentence By Bonnie S. Hirst

About the Book Bonnie S. Hirst is a woman of faith who has always believed that everything in life works out for the best. So, when her daughter, Lacey, is accused of a terrible crime, although Bonnie is devastated, she is also convinced that God will protect her family from harm. He always has, after all. But when her prayers are not answered and Lacey is sentenced to life in prison, Bonnie questions every aspect of her existence: her beliefs, her role as a mother, and the purpose behind the events that are tearing her family apart. As Bonnie and her family navigate the complicated labyrinth of the legal system, she struggles with the duality of presenting a façade of being okay on the outside and screaming for air on the inside. Finally, she is guided to ask for help—a concept previously foreign to her—and is rewarded with a bubble of friends who surround her and her family with love. Poignant, hopeful, and ultimately uplifting, Test of Faith is the story of one mother’s spiritual journey …

Book Review ~ Reforesting Faith: What Trees Teach Us About the Nature of God and His Love for Us By Matthew Sleeth, MD

About the Book What Do Trees Reveal About God, Faith, and the Future of Everything? More Than You Ever Imagined. Join Dr. Matthew Sleeth as he explores the Bible’s trail of trees and reveals the wonders of life, death, and rebirth. You’ll be amazed at how science is just beginning to catch up to the truths described in Scripture thousands of years ago. Once you discover the hidden language of trees, your walk through the woods—and through Scripture—will never be same. Fifteen years ago, Matthew Sleeth was an atheist who believed that science and logic held the answers to everything. But when tragedy struck, he opened the Bible for the first time and was surprised to find that God chose to tell the story of creation, sin, and redemption through a trail of trees. In this groundbreaking walk through Scripture, Dr. Sleeth convincingly makes the case for why trees are essential to every Christian’s understanding of God. There’s a tree on the first page of Genesis and on the last page of Revelation. The Bible …

Author Scoop ~ Interview With Bonnie S. Hirst

I am glad to introduce to you author, Bonnie S. Hirst, the woman who bravely faced the trauma of watching her daughter go to prison with a life sentence, and still found a reason to love God back for seeing her through her toughest season. Faced with raising her daughter’s kids, this and many other blessings, set Bonnie on a path to healing so much that she wrote her testimony, sharing it in her new book, Test of Faith: Surviving My Daughter’s Life Sentence, releasing September 24th. For Bonnie’s story and journey, take a look below. Miranda ~ Hello and welcome, Bonnie! Glad to have you on TBAP today. Could you please tell us a bit about yourself? Bonnie: I am a wife, mother, grandmother, daughter, sister, and friend. All of those relationships nurture me. I enjoy being outside, especially near water. I can sit for hours on our deck overlooking a small lake and watch hummingbirds flit between my feeders, or watch a squirrel scurry up the tree. One of my favorite pastimes is …

Book Review ~ The King’s Mercy By Lori Benton

About the Book For readers of Sara Donati and Diana Gabaldon, this epic historical romance tells of fateful love between an indentured Scotsman and a daughter of the 18th century colonial south. When captured rebel Scotsman Alex MacKinnon is granted the king’s mercy–exile to the Colony of North Carolina–he’s indentured to Englishman Edmund Carey as a blacksmith. Against his will Alex is drawn into the struggles of Carey’s slaves–and those of his stepdaughter, Joanna Carey. A mistress with a servant’s heart, Joanna is expected to wed her father’s overseer, Phineas Reeves, but finds herself drawn instead to the new blacksmith. As their unlikely relationship deepens, successive tragedies strike the Careys. When blame falls unfairly upon Alex he flees to the distant mountains where he encounters Reverend Pauling, itinerate preacher and friend of the Careys, now a prisoner of the Cherokees. Haunted by his abandoning of Joanna, Alex tries to settle into life with the Cherokees, until circumstances thwart yet another attempt to forge his freedom and he’s faced with the choice that’s long hounded him: …