All posts filed under: Young Adult

Book Review ~ Come As You Are By Anne Marie Bennett

About the Book This relevant, adventurous young adult Christian novel explores faith, community, and family relationships within the setting of a church youth group’s theatre production of the musical¬†Godspell.¬† Fifteen-year-old Casey Donovan wants nothing more than to live wildly. In her town of Woodfield, Connecticut, she is more than content to toe the line of danger while trying to put away memories of a painful past. But then she and her boyfriend are arrested for drug possession. To have the charges dropped, and keep peace as her mother goes through a bitter divorce, Casey reluctantly joins her local church’s Youth Group. She expects a boring summer as she helps with the church’s summer theatre production of the musical¬†Godspell. Though she longs to return to her old life, Casey soon finds herself bonding with the other teens in the group who have their own struggles. Slowly, this once lonely teen realizes that she is not alone in the challenges she has been afraid to face. Part of Casey’s journey involves letting go of two people who …

Book Review ~ Other Bodies By Joel Ohman

About the Book For fans of The Hunger Games, The Maze Runner, and Divergent comes a YA dystopian/light romance with a strong female protagonist who is forced to question everything… In a world where immersive VR suits distort what is real from what is not, and the AI Personhood Act blurs the lines between body and bot, the choices sixteen-year-old Hattie Martins faces are very personal. Welcome to Hattie Martins’ dystopian Philadelphia, where everything is not as it seems… Just as her life is looking up–a new job, new friends, a new date–Hattie discovers not all progress in her beloved, futuristic Philadelphia is for the best. Societal regrets can become personal regrets in an instant. Choices don’t always come with second chances, and when they do the cost can be unimaginable. How far will she go to undo her greatest regret? And worse yet, what will she become if it’s too late? In a world where bots are equal to bodies, what does it mean to be alive? What is real? Which bodies matter? What …