All posts tagged: Historical Romance

Book Review ~ Tossed Together By Heather Manning

About the Book Lady Aimee Dawson is the perfect picture of an English society lady—except when she is around Captain Emery, who simply makes her want to scream. Much to her dismay, she finds herself stranded in Port Royal with the man. As if her week could not get any worse, she is stolen by a group of pirates who want to sell her at an auction. Captain Matthew Emery is a merchant man, but all he really wants to do is become a missionary. His plans take a turn, however, when he finds a group of pirates attempting to auction off Aimee. The only way Matthew can think to save her is to claim she is his betrothed—something he had never thought would come out of his mouth. Much to Matthew and Aimee’s chagrin, the pirates agree to let Aimee go free, on one condition: she must marry Matthew right then and there to prove they were truly betrothed. Left with no other options, the two sworn enemies exit the tavern as man and …

Book Review ~ The King’s Mercy By Lori Benton

About the Book For readers of Sara Donati and Diana Gabaldon, this epic historical romance tells of fateful love between an indentured Scotsman and a daughter of the 18th century colonial south. When captured rebel Scotsman Alex MacKinnon is granted the king’s mercy–exile to the Colony of North Carolina–he’s indentured to Englishman Edmund Carey as a blacksmith. Against his will Alex is drawn into the struggles of Carey’s slaves–and those of his stepdaughter, Joanna Carey. A mistress with a servant’s heart, Joanna is expected to wed her father’s overseer, Phineas Reeves, but finds herself drawn instead to the new blacksmith. As their unlikely relationship deepens, successive tragedies strike the Careys. When blame falls unfairly upon Alex he flees to the distant mountains where he encounters Reverend Pauling, itinerate preacher and friend of the Careys, now a prisoner of the Cherokees. Haunted by his abandoning of Joanna, Alex tries to settle into life with the Cherokees, until circumstances thwart yet another attempt to forge his freedom and he’s faced with the choice that’s long hounded him: …

Book Review ~ A Silken Thread By Kim Vogel Sawyer

About The Book For readers who love a heartwarming romance and a rich historical setting comes a tale of a young woman with a heavy burden, the International Cotton Exposition, and the pursuit of true love. Eighteen-year-old Laurel Millard, youngest of seven children, is expected to stay home and “take care of Mama” by her older siblings, but Laurel has dreams of starting her own family. Operating a silk loom at the Atlanta Exposition will give her the chance to capture the heart of a man wealthy enough to take care of Laurel and any children she might bear, as well as her mother. Langdon Rochester’s parents have given him an ultimatum: settle down with a wife or lose his family inheritance. At the Exposition, Langdon meets Laurel. Marrying her would satisfy his parents’s command, she would look lovely on his arm for social events, and in her besotted state, he believes she would overlook him continuing pursuing rowdy adventures with his unmarried buddies. Langdon decides to woo Laurel. Willie Sharp is not well-off and …

Book Review ~ North Star Home By Megan Easley-Walsh

About the Book Ann Scarlet is no thief, but when the Yankee sheriff catches her she might just steal his heart. Ann Scarlet has a single goal when journeying from her home in Savannah to Red River Rocks Falls, Nebraska in 1875: find Whittaker and get back the land deed he stole from her brother. It seems simple enough, until Sheriff Crambert finds her with her hands full of money as she rifles through a pile of land deeds. Nathaniel Crambert has loved and lost before. Ann seems harmless enough and he decides to rehabilitate her into society. Falling for her? That’s not part of the plan. Falling for him? That’s not what she intended either. With the help of Mol, the woman who raised him, and Quiet Dove, his Lakota friend, Ann and Nathaniel may finally get over the burden of their heavy pasts. If Whittaker appears, Ann will have to follow that trail. But, what about following her heart? Category Christian/Fiction/Adult Genre Historical Romance Rating 4 Stars Review This is a sweet story …

Book Review ~ Aboard Providence by Keely Brooke Keith

About the Book In November 1860, Marian Foster joins a group of Virginia families who are sailing away from America to form a new settlement off the coast of Brazil. As an amateur botanist, Marian eagerly anticipates exploring a new land. She boards Providence confident in the group’s plan, but during the voyage, her heart is drawn to Jonah Ashton, the secretive and sullen ship’s physician. Jonah Ashton is determined to finish medical school before rumors of Southern rebellion erupt into all-out war. When family obligation forces Jonah to take a voyage aboard Providence, he plans to escort his family to their new settlement in South America and then return home. While aboard Providence, Jonah is beguiled by Marian’s optimistic spirit and finds himself in uncharted territory. Soon Jonah makes a startling discovery that changes everything, but will it change his heart? Get swept away on a journey of faith, sacrifice, and God’s unfailing provision in this inspirational story reviewers are calling “a captivating, well-researched, and deftly written tale.” Read Aboard Providence today and embark …

Book Review ~ The Lady and the Lionheart by Joanne Bischof

About the Book Two worlds collide when the circus comes to Victorian-era Virginia. Raised amid the fame and mystique of the Big Top, Charlie Lionheart holds the audience in the palm of his hand. But while his act captivates thousands, it’s away from the spotlight where his true heart lies. Here he humbly cares for his pride of lions as if they were his brothers, a skill of bravery and strength that has prepared him for his most challenging feat yet—freeing an orphaned infant from the dark bondage of a sideshow. A trade so costly, it requires his life in exchange for hers, leaving him tarnished by the price of that choice. As the circus tents are raised on the outskirts of Roanoke, country nurse Ella Beckley arrives to tend to this ill Gypsy girl. All under the watchful eye of a guardian who not only bears a striking resemblance to the child, but who protects the baby with a love that wraps around Ella’s own tragic past, awakening a hope that goodness may yet …

Book Review ~ The Sound of Emeralds by Rachelle Rea (Steadfast Love, #3)

About the Book What once was blazing hatred has turned to lasting love, but could the union of a wild heart with that of a lady ever result in more than heartache? With the help of an old friend with uncertain loyalties, Dirk inches ever closer to clearing his name. Gwyneth throws her faith into good tidings and the promise of a future as a family. But an old evil comes to call, just as tragedy rips apart a fledgling truce. Enemies from the past and grief for the future threaten to tear asunder what God had brought together… As the date of Dirk’s trial approaches, his fate and his family hang in the balance. Will he be proven innocent of Gwyneth’s parents’ murders—or separated from her forever? How much pain does it take to erode a love steadfast? Category Christian/Fiction Genre Historical Romance Rating 4 Stars Review The Sound of Emeralds marks the conclusion of the Steadfast Love Series, and a fine finish it was! The struggles of Dirk and Gwyn—personally, and as a …

Book Review ~ The Bartered Bride by Lena Goldfinch

About the Book Jem Wheeler has always been a survivor. He just wants to make a fresh start in Colorado Springs after the loss of his wife. But then he happens upon a young mute woman being sold off to the highest bidder. He wasn’t looking for a mail-order bride. He wasn’t looking to rescue anyone either. But desperate circumstances can drive a good man to do things he hadn’t planned on doing… When Jem steps into Annie’s life, she’s not expecting anyone to save her. Mute from birth, she’s just using all her wits to survive. All she’s ever really wanted is a family of her own. For someone to see her. To look at her long enough to hear the things she can’t say. Can a rescued bride who can’t speak communicate her love for a grieving widower and his little girl? Will her love ever be returned? Genre Historical Romance Category Inspirational/Christian Rating 4 Stars Review The Bartered Bride turned out to be quite different from what I expected, but in a good …

Book Review ~ The Sound of Silver (Steadfast Love, #2) by Rachelle Rea

About the Book The stalwart saint and the redeemed rebel. One is fighting for faith, the other for honor… After Dirk rescues Gwyneth from the Iconoclastic Fury, she discovers that faith is sometimes fragile—and hope is not as easy as it may seem. Gwyneth continues her quest to learn more about the love of God preached by Protestants she once distrusted. Meanwhile, Dirk’s quest is to prevent his sullied name from staining hers. Will his choice to protect her prove the undoing of her first faltering steps toward a Father God? Once separated, will Dirk and Gwyneth’s searching hearts ever sing the same song? Genre Historical Romance Category Christian/New-Adult (N/A) Rating 4.5 Stars Review You now those books which, while you’re still in the middle of the story, you already know it’s probably a five-r—that is, those that will end up with a five-star rating, or something close—this is one of them! This installment in the Steadfast Love Series—The Sound of Silver—is so rich in almost every plot element you can think of, without it …

Book Review ~ Carried Home by Heather Manning

About the Book The Caribbean is no place for a society lady of London, yet after a daring quest to save a friend, Lady Ivy Shaw finds herself trapped far from home. Now, driven with worry for her young brother, she is determined to return to England in all haste. So, when a new acquaintance offers to sail her to her brother’s side, she jumps at the offer, scarcely caring that the man is a privateer. Captain Gage Thompson is just learning how to be a captain. He sailed for years under the command of his longtime friend, Caspian Archer, but serving a captain and being a captain are, as he soon discovers, two very different roles. While struggling to gain the respect of his newfound crew, he now faces the distraction of beautiful Lady Shaw. He finds himself entranced by her and promises to give her passage home. After a brief stop in Port Royal, Ivy and Gage discover an abandoned child. They both decide to bring her with them on their voyage to …