All posts tagged: Romance

Book Review ~ She Walks In Majesty: Protectors of the Spear #3 By MaryLu Tyndall

About the Book Danger around every corner. Intrigues in everyone’s past. And a romance that’s swoon worthy. She Walks in Majesty is all that and more, with a plot that twists and turns and truths that are hard-hitting. Truly, this is author MaryLu Tyndall at her finest! —Michelle Griep, Christy Award-winning author of Once Upon a Dickens Christmas With only a worn document in hand and the Spear of Destiny strapped to her thigh, Seraphina de Mobray, the new Protector of the Spear, must convince the king that her friends are innocent of treason and witchcraft. Who is she to embark on such a lofty task but a lowly servant, an orphan abandoned at birth? Yet each step of the way, the Spear grants her favor and opens a path for her to enter the royal palace. What she finds there is naught but lies, greed, and a danger that threatens her very existence. Sir Damien LaRage, knight of the elite King’s Guard would do anything to protect Seraphina and save his friends, anything except …

Book Review ~ Mercy By Eniola Prentice

About the Book Broken. Drowning. Desperate. Lost. When the lives and hearts of four friends start to crumble, can God’s mercy reach them still? In her second year of medical school, Fadesola (Sola) Cardoso faces an impossible choice: stay with her longtime boyfriend, the one who knows her darkest secrets and loves her anyway, or move forward with Ladi, the man who gives her hope for an unstained future. Even as she wrestles with her options, life as a medical student becomes increasingly difficult—full of endless exams, stressful social activities, and reminders of a past that continues to haunt her. Ladi struggles with Sola’s divided loyalties while trying to maintain his perfect image as class president, promising student, and model Christian. But scandals inside and outside the lecture hall threaten to break apart the fragile peace once and for all between Ladi, Sola, and their friends Nikky and Tayo, who are fighting battles of their own. In this epic second installment in Eniola Prentice’s new-adult Still series, the faith of these four medical students will …

Book Review ~ Other Bodies By Joel Ohman

About the Book For fans of The Hunger Games, The Maze Runner, and Divergent comes a YA dystopian/light romance with a strong female protagonist who is forced to question everything… In a world where immersive VR suits distort what is real from what is not, and the AI Personhood Act blurs the lines between body and bot, the choices sixteen-year-old Hattie Martins faces are very personal. Welcome to Hattie Martins’ dystopian Philadelphia, where everything is not as it seems… Just as her life is looking up–a new job, new friends, a new date–Hattie discovers not all progress in her beloved, futuristic Philadelphia is for the best. Societal regrets can become personal regrets in an instant. Choices don’t always come with second chances, and when they do the cost can be unimaginable. How far will she go to undo her greatest regret? And worse yet, what will she become if it’s too late? In a world where bots are equal to bodies, what does it mean to be alive? What is real? Which bodies matter? What …

Book Review ~ Of Fire And Lions (Prophets And Kings, #2) By Mesu Andrews

About the Book The Old Testament book of Daniel comes to life in this novel for readers of Lynn Austin’s Chronicles of the Kings series or Francine Rivers’ Mark of the Lion series. Survival. A Hebrew girl first tasted it when she escaped death nearly seventy years ago as the Babylonians ransacked Jerusalem and took their finest as captives. She thought she’d perfected in the many years amongst the Magoi and the idol worshippers, pretending with all the others in King Nebuchadnezzar’s court. Now, as Daniel’s wife and a septuagenarian matriarch, Belili thinks she’s safe and she can live out her days in Babylon without fear–until the night Daniel is escorted to Belshazzar’s palace to interpret mysterious handwriting on a wall. The Persian Army invades, and Bellili’s tightly-wound secrets unfurl with the arrival of the conquering army. What will the reign of Darius mean for Daniel, a man who prays to Yahweh alone? Ultimately, Yahweh’s sovereign hand guides Jerusalem’s captives, and the frightened Hebrew girl is transformed into a confident woman, who realizes her need …

Book Review ~ Where Trains Collide By Amber Holcomb (Stokes)

About The Book Inspirational Contemporary Romance Novella Two hearts racing in different directions will meet where trains collide. Burned out and disillusioned with her chosen career path, Trisha Knolane gives in to impulse and hops on a train bound for Oregon, eager to escape the stress of college for a few days. But what begins as a fun little adventure takes an unexpected turn when she discovers that her ex-boyfriend is also on board. All her hopes and dreams had once centered on Paul Benson. Now, when Trisha doesn’t know where her current track will lead, Paul’s reappearance in her life only complicates matters and sparks difficult questions. Questions that could change the course of her life. A heartfelt and thought-provoking contemporary romance novella, Where Trains Collide faces the uncertain season of new adulthood head on and shows that sometimes a path of broken dreams can lead to life’s best destination. Category Christian/Fiction/Novella Genre New Adult/Contemporary Romance Rating 4 Stars Review Trisha Knolane has her whole life ahead of her, but after a painful breakup …

Book Review ~ All Things Beautiful (Uncharted Beginnings, #3) By Keely Brooke Keith

About The Book It’s 1868 in the settlement of Good Springs, and Hannah Vestal is passionate about writing fiction and keeping her stories to herself. By lantern light she slips into her story world and dreams the adventures she’ll never experience. When her father asks to read her work, she decides to have it printed secretly for his 50th birthday. Hannah tries to arrange the printing with the settlement’s pressman, but the witty and dapper Henry Roberts won’t make it easy for her to prove her writing is worthy of his ink. If Henry Roberts did nothing else for the rest of his life but print and bind books, he would die a satisfied man. In order to secure settlement support for his printing press, the elder council says Henry must print an error-free copy of the New Testament before the settlement’s 8th anniversary celebration. He is determined to meet their challenge, but when the enigmatic Hannah proves to be a beguiling distraction, Henry longs for something more than a life at the letterpress. Get …

Book Review ~ Samara’s Peril by Jaye L. Knight (Ilyon Chronicles, #3)

About the Book When news arrives that Emperor Daican has been in contact with his chief war strategist, it signals potential doom for the country of Samara. Determined to intervene, the resistance in Landale, headed by Lady Anne, embark on a covert mission in hopes of unearthing further information. However, a shocking discovery leads to complications no one could have foreseen. Armed with their newfound knowledge, they set out for Samara to warn the king. War is inevitable, and they must face two desperate battles—one on the walls of Samara’s great stronghold, and the other on the battlefield of Jace’s heart, where victory might only be achievable through great sacrifice. Category Christian/Fiction/YA Genre Fantasy/Romance Rating 4 Stars Review The third book in the Ilyon Chronicles Series, it brings to light the truth behind the mysterious birth of Jace, the half ryrik, and sets the story in a time that mimics Christ’s stay and mission on earth. It also brings to a crux the relationship between Jace and Kyrin, which turned out to be everything a …

Book Review ~ Mardan’s Mark & Healer’s Curse by Kathrese McKee

About Mardan’s Mark Death is not their deepest fear. Abducted by pirates and taken behind enemy lines across the Great Gulf, Princess Srilani is determined to save her sisters and younger brother, the crown prince, from captivity. She convinces their caretaker, Aldan, and his brother slaves to share the perilous journey home. This ragtag group of unlikely heroes sets out on a quest — pursued by cutthroat pirates, merciless priests, and marauding soldiers — toreturn the heir to his kingdom before war breaks out. In this epic adventure fantasy, Srilani and Aldan risk everything to save a prince and a nation, discovering along the way that death is not their deepest fear. Category Christian/Fiction/Young Adult Genre Fantasy/Romance Rating 4 Stars Review After reading so many fantasy books, I’ve often wondered if I’ll ever be impressed by anything new, especially with books by J.R.R. Tolkien, C.S. Lewis, Serena Chase, Jaye L. Knight etc. out there. One would think that their books would have spoiled you for good, so that amateur/debut authors almost never stand a chance …

Book Review ~ Stella by Elle E. Kay

About the Book Abandoned by her dearest friend, Stella is running-scared. Life and death decisions force her to re-examine her faith, as well as her priorities. The handsome, Jason, only exacerbates her anxiety. Should she trust him? Something is amiss in the quiet town of Edinsville. How will Stella fare as her world gets turned upside down? Stella is a stand-alone romantic suspense novel. It is the first book in the Edinsville Series. Semi-finalist in ACFW Genesis Contest – 2015. Category Christian/Fiction Genre Contemporary/Romance/Suspense Rating 4 Stars Review There’s a simplicity to to this story that makes it alluring. Every element is tucked nicely into all the right places without much fuss, twists and turns. In an age where this isn’t so common anymore, it’s quite refreshing. The hero/heroine are sweet and likable, and easy to sympathize and empathize with. The demographics employed in her character selection–both main and secondary–is commendable! Overall, this is a well done book! About the Author Elle E. Kay lives on a farmette in the Back Mountain region of Pennsylvania. …

Book Review ~ A Dream Not Imagined by Shantelle Mary Hannu

About the Book A Maid, a Prince, and a Duke. A Gardener, a Stepmother, and a secret… Ellie Abbington, a beautiful yet unassuming young woman, quietly longs for her life to change. Too privileged to associate with the servants—too underprivileged to associate with her own family; she dreams a dream of a prince and a happily ever after. But it could be that her own stepsisters, conniving Dezmarie and easily-influenced Adelaide, are dreaming the same dream…of the same prince. In the end, are dreams all that they’re made out to be? Especially with deep and long-hidden secrets about to be unearthed? A Dream Not Imagined is a non-magical fairytale novella based loosely on the classic tale of Cinderella.     Genre Inspirational/Fantasy/Romance Rating 4.5 Stars Review Just as the title implies, so the story is. And in a magnificent way, too! Honestly, I got so much more from this story than I expected—entertainment-wise and in other aspects. Shantelle is a sharp writer, one whose work I’ll definitely look out for as I scan shelves in …