All posts tagged: TBAP Book Review

Book Review ~ Reforesting Faith: What Trees Teach Us About the Nature of God and His Love for Us By Matthew Sleeth, MD

About the Book What Do Trees Reveal About God, Faith, and the Future of Everything? More Than You Ever Imagined. Join Dr. Matthew Sleeth as he explores the Bible’s trail of trees and reveals the wonders of life, death, and rebirth. You’ll be amazed at how science is just beginning to catch up to the truths described in Scripture thousands of years ago. Once you discover the hidden language of trees, your walk through the woods—and through Scripture—will never be same. Fifteen years ago, Matthew Sleeth was an atheist who believed that science and logic held the answers to everything. But when tragedy struck, he opened the Bible for the first time and was surprised to find that God chose to tell the story of creation, sin, and redemption through a trail of trees. In this groundbreaking walk through Scripture, Dr. Sleeth convincingly makes the case for why trees are essential to every Christian’s understanding of God. There’s a tree on the first page of Genesis and on the last page of Revelation. The Bible …

Book Review ~ The King’s Mercy By Lori Benton

About the Book For readers of Sara Donati and Diana Gabaldon, this epic historical romance tells of fateful love between an indentured Scotsman and a daughter of the 18th century colonial south. When captured rebel Scotsman Alex MacKinnon is granted the king’s mercy–exile to the Colony of North Carolina–he’s indentured to Englishman Edmund Carey as a blacksmith. Against his will Alex is drawn into the struggles of Carey’s slaves–and those of his stepdaughter, Joanna Carey. A mistress with a servant’s heart, Joanna is expected to wed her father’s overseer, Phineas Reeves, but finds herself drawn instead to the new blacksmith. As their unlikely relationship deepens, successive tragedies strike the Careys. When blame falls unfairly upon Alex he flees to the distant mountains where he encounters Reverend Pauling, itinerate preacher and friend of the Careys, now a prisoner of the Cherokees. Haunted by his abandoning of Joanna, Alex tries to settle into life with the Cherokees, until circumstances thwart yet another attempt to forge his freedom and he’s faced with the choice that’s long hounded him: …

Book Review ~ Hearing God: Eliminate Myths, Encounter Meaning By Nathan Finochio

About the Book God is always speaking, perhaps in ways you haven’t considered. Learn how to truly listen. Imagine how different life would be if God regularly answered your most urgent questions. Now imagine that He has been…and you’ve just been missing His replies. You may have experienced that moment—whether in worship, in nature, or while reading Scripture—when you’ve sensed God speaking to you. And then, without explanation, the moment is gone, leaving you wanting more but unsure what to do. For everyone who desires to recognize God’s voice but has trouble hearing it—or even has trouble believing it’s possible to hear—this book is for you. Through biblical teaching and real-life stories, Hillsong New York teaching pastor, Nathan Finochio, helps you unlearn your wrong assumptions about God so you can experience Him as a Father who speaks to His sons and daughters. You’ll discover the nine myths that hinder our ability to hear God’s voice, the essential role of the Holy Spirit in discerning and overcoming these hindrances, and how to sustain life-giving conversation with …

Book Review ~ Ripple Effects By Pam Tebow

About The Book Within the heart of every woman is the desire to be influential. Join Pam Tebow to uncover the God-inspired difference only you can make. Heisman Trophy–winning athlete Tim Tebow credits his mom with being the key to his success―but Pam never expected her family’s name to be known around the world. For most of her life, she served quietly and faithfully as a wife and a mom. But unexpectedly, at least to Pam, her consistent, everyday choices to follow God created ripples of influence throughout her family, her community, and her world. Join Pam in Ripple Effects as she shares what she’s learned on the journey and Reveals how she taught her kids to develop strong character and faith so that their lives would positively influence others Gives an inside look at how she survived her own most challenging life seasons, ones that ultimately made her influence stronger Explores the unique and powerful influence you can have on those around you, no matter where you are planted in life―using gifts you never knew you …

Book Review ~ A Silken Thread By Kim Vogel Sawyer

About The Book For readers who love a heartwarming romance and a rich historical setting comes a tale of a young woman with a heavy burden, the International Cotton Exposition, and the pursuit of true love. Eighteen-year-old Laurel Millard, youngest of seven children, is expected to stay home and “take care of Mama” by her older siblings, but Laurel has dreams of starting her own family. Operating a silk loom at the Atlanta Exposition will give her the chance to capture the heart of a man wealthy enough to take care of Laurel and any children she might bear, as well as her mother. Langdon Rochester’s parents have given him an ultimatum: settle down with a wife or lose his family inheritance. At the Exposition, Langdon meets Laurel. Marrying her would satisfy his parents’s command, she would look lovely on his arm for social events, and in her besotted state, he believes she would overlook him continuing pursuing rowdy adventures with his unmarried buddies. Langdon decides to woo Laurel. Willie Sharp is not well-off and …

Book Review ~ Cross Of A Different Kind By Anthony Maranise

About The Book CANCER: with often abrupt and unwelcome entry into human lives as well as profound multi-dimensional impact, such an illness is, for many, considered to be a ruthless thief, intent on stealing not only joy, but life itself. Of course, even as cancer attempts to steal life and captivate those under its hold, lest we forget that as powerful an adversary as it may seem, it is no contestant against the power of the One who “has come to set the captives free” (Luke 4:18) and who is Life itself (John 14:6) and its Source. Cross of a Different Kind: Cancer & Christian Spirituality draws upon the richness of Christian spiritual theology with the aim of rejuvenating hope within and imparting eternal Truth to all persons who have been “touched” by cancer in any of its wicked forms. Divided into three parts addressing those who have lost loved ones to cancer; those currently confronting their diagnoses; and survivors, this book serves as both a “spiritual field-guide” as well as an informative, yet practical helpmate …

Book Review ~ Mercy By Eniola Prentice

About the Book Broken. Drowning. Desperate. Lost. When the lives and hearts of four friends start to crumble, can God’s mercy reach them still? In her second year of medical school, Fadesola (Sola) Cardoso faces an impossible choice: stay with her longtime boyfriend, the one who knows her darkest secrets and loves her anyway, or move forward with Ladi, the man who gives her hope for an unstained future. Even as she wrestles with her options, life as a medical student becomes increasingly difficult—full of endless exams, stressful social activities, and reminders of a past that continues to haunt her. Ladi struggles with Sola’s divided loyalties while trying to maintain his perfect image as class president, promising student, and model Christian. But scandals inside and outside the lecture hall threaten to break apart the fragile peace once and for all between Ladi, Sola, and their friends Nikky and Tayo, who are fighting battles of their own. In this epic second installment in Eniola Prentice’s new-adult Still series, the faith of these four medical students will …