All posts tagged: TBAP Book Review

Book Review ~ Mercy By Eniola Prentice

About the Book Broken. Drowning. Desperate. Lost. When the lives and hearts of four friends start to crumble, can God’s mercy reach them still? In her second year of medical school, Fadesola (Sola) Cardoso faces an impossible choice: stay with her longtime boyfriend, the one who knows her darkest secrets and loves her anyway, or move forward with Ladi, the man who gives her hope for an unstained future. Even as she wrestles with her options, life as a medical student becomes increasingly difficult—full of endless exams, stressful social activities, and reminders of a past that continues to haunt her. Ladi struggles with Sola’s divided loyalties while trying to maintain his perfect image as class president, promising student, and model Christian. But scandals inside and outside the lecture hall threaten to break apart the fragile peace once and for all between Ladi, Sola, and their friends Nikky and Tayo, who are fighting battles of their own. In this epic second installment in Eniola Prentice’s new-adult Still series, the faith of these four medical students will …

Book Review ~ Hearts Set Free By Jess Lederman

About the Book In 1930, the rag-tag riffraff stop called Las Vegas need a fighting man to shepherd their tiny church after their pastor is murdered. Might David Gold, a washed-up boxer and Bible-school dropout who fights as the Pummelin’ Preacher, be the answer to their prayers? At the same time, Luke, a native Alaskan boy, is on quest to find his father, who has abandoned his family for a beautiful woman whom his mother vows to kill. Little do mother or son know that their journey will take them to a small town in Nevada where demons and angels walk among men. In 2011, Science Cable TV producer Tim Faber is determined to prove that mankind has no need of God, while his lover, Joan Reed, strives to regain the faith of her youth. They’re bound for Las Vegas to meet 99-year-old Luke, who holds the key to a mystery they must solve—and answers that will forever change their lives. Hearts Set Free weaves together these three tales of men and women who journey …

Book Review ~ Other Bodies By Joel Ohman

About the Book For fans of The Hunger Games, The Maze Runner, and Divergent comes a YA dystopian/light romance with a strong female protagonist who is forced to question everything… In a world where immersive VR suits distort what is real from what is not, and the AI Personhood Act blurs the lines between body and bot, the choices sixteen-year-old Hattie Martins faces are very personal. Welcome to Hattie Martins’ dystopian Philadelphia, where everything is not as it seems… Just as her life is looking up–a new job, new friends, a new date–Hattie discovers not all progress in her beloved, futuristic Philadelphia is for the best. Societal regrets can become personal regrets in an instant. Choices don’t always come with second chances, and when they do the cost can be unimaginable. How far will she go to undo her greatest regret? And worse yet, what will she become if it’s too late? In a world where bots are equal to bodies, what does it mean to be alive? What is real? Which bodies matter? What …

Book Review ~ The Way Of The Warrior: An Ancient Path To Inner Peace By Erwin Raphael McManus

About the Book Best-selling author, pastor, futurist, and cultural thought leader believes that to experience and establish peace, we must first confront the battles that rage within. McManus shows that encountering peace does not occur by accident, but rather by artful intention. Warrior is a call to decisiveness, self-examination, and the pursuit of spiritual wholeness. Through the ancient biblical practices of humility, focus, ownership, clarity, strength, and vulnerability, he guides readers to a deeper understanding of their inner workings and provides the guidance they need to establish peace and tranquility in their homes, neighborhoods, communities, and even the world! In the style of a battle-wizened teacher, McManus delivers wisdom, instills passion, and provides the sacred movements needed to become the warrior you were meant to be. Category Religious/Christian/Non-fiction Genre Christian Living Rating 4.5 Stars Review With an artful, poignant and compassionate voice, McManus leads with a message of what it truly means to be a warrior in our day. Worry. Anxiety. Fear. Doubt. All four disturb our peace and threaten true freedom. To fight and …

Book Review ~ The Minimalist Home By Joshua Becker

About the Book Megablogger and international speaker, Joshua Becker, believes that minimalism isn’t about taking away from you. It’s about giving you something more. In this highly practical guide, Becker takes you on a decluttering tour through every space in your house so you can love coming home—and love going out to live your dreams. Here you’ll discover… How to tell your story through an inviting living room What your clothes closet has to do with your self-confidence Why less clutter in your bedroom helps you sleep better How to decide what paperwork to keep and what to throw out Which kitchen utensils are worth keeping How to involve your family in the minimalist adventure As Becker writes, “Minimalism doesn’t change you all by itself. It creates a context where it’s easier for you to change yourself.” Change starts one closet, one drawer, one room at a time. Change starts here. Category Non-fiction Genre House/Home Rating 4 Stars Review The Minimalist Home is not only a wonderful guide for reinventing your home and personal space …

Book Review ~ This Is The Day By Tim Tebow

About the Book Beyond Tim Tebow’s exploits as a Heisman-winning football player, he is widely known and respected for his exemplary character and personal excellence, which have made him a role model for millions. When Tim interacts with the public, he often encounters people who feel “stuck”–unable to take action on matters ranging from daily life to pursuing lifelong dreams. In response, Tim often identifies a crippling fear or lack of courage, to which he advises: “now is the time to take some risks, to quiet the voices of defeat, to step forward and make a mark, because this is the day.” In this inspiring, motivational book, readers will receive the advice and encouragement to daily move from “pause” to “play” in finding deeper meaning and success. Tim illustrates the book’s themes with stories from his personal life that will delight all readers, including his an update on his dream pursuit of a baseball career. Category Religious/Christian/Non-fiction Genre Christian Living Release Date September 25, 2018. Rating 5 Stars Review   Funny. Inspiring. Forthright…a winner! Tebow’s This …

Book Review ~ The Life Giving Leader: Learning To Lead From Your Truest Self By Tyler Reagin

About the Book With clear biblical teaching and personal accounts, Tyler Reagin not only demonstrates the necessity of life-giving leadership, but also provides the steps you’ll need to begin knowing and leading from your truest self. From his experiences in high-impact leadership roles at some of our nation’s largest churches and ministries, Reagin has learned firsthand the importance of identity-based leadership. His desire is to help each reader become an empowered, confident leader that brings life and vibrancy to every room they enter. Whether you’ve got the corner office or you’re just getting started, Reagin gives you the tools you need to become an impactful and unique influencer right where you are! Category Religious/Christian/Non-fiction Genre Christian Living/Leadership Release Date September 14, 2018. Rating 5 Stars Review Reagin’s The Life Giving Leader takes on leadership from a whole new dimension that is authentic, organic, and flawlessly refreshing. Birthed from a place of experience and humility, the wisdom offered cuts to the deep, removing the flesh of falsehood, and pointing leaders to the  Christ-like model that gives …