All posts tagged: Waterbrook Multnomah

Book Review ~ May It Be So By Justin McRoberts & Scott Erickson

About the Book Combining prayers in two languages–words and images–this contemporary prayer guide will help you spend time in conversation with God. As people of faith, we all struggle at times to sustain a flourishing prayer life–a loss felt all the more keenly in these times of confusion, political turbulence, and global calamity. This unique book offers a timeless solution for the spiritual and skeptical alike. Combining story-driven reflections with visual and written prayers, this simple 40-day prayer guide will help you reconnect with God as you rediscover your own ongoing conversation with Him. Using the familiar refrains in the Lord’s Prayer as a guide, this groundbreaking resource invites you to reconnect with God creatively and organically. Category Religious/Christian Genre Christian Living/Prayer Rating 5 Stars Review May It Be So is a wonderful resource and guide to help the believer see, pray and practice the words of the Lord’s Prayer in a dynamic way that doesn’t leave the person the same after the forty-day period. It is not strict nor meant to be the only …

Book Review ~ Rise of the Servant Kings: What the Bible Says about Being a Man By Ken Harrison

About the Book The “how-to-get-it-right” book for today’s Christian man–in marriage, family, work, friendships, with God in all of life.  Men are hungry for authenticity and for sound and bold biblical teaching on true masculinity. Every day men ask themselves questions about how to be better fathers, husbands, friends, and men, but it’s difficult to find satisfying answers. Rise of the Servant Kings explains that true masculinity is found in absolute surrender to God, which always results in humble character and is expressed in courage and generosity. When a man truly understands God’s desires, he will naturally express godly masculinity, Ken Harrison weaves together his experiences as a police officer in one of the deadliest areas of the country, with many years as a business executive and ministry leader, to share deep truths for men direct from God’s Word. Category Religious/Christian/Non-fiction Genre Christian Living/Motivational/Men Rating 5 Stars Review Rise of the Servant Kings is a book with topics that cover much of the areas of a man’s life, and it it digs deep and holds up the …

Book Review ~ The King’s Mercy By Lori Benton

About the Book For readers of Sara Donati and Diana Gabaldon, this epic historical romance tells of fateful love between an indentured Scotsman and a daughter of the 18th century colonial south. When captured rebel Scotsman Alex MacKinnon is granted the king’s mercy–exile to the Colony of North Carolina–he’s indentured to Englishman Edmund Carey as a blacksmith. Against his will Alex is drawn into the struggles of Carey’s slaves–and those of his stepdaughter, Joanna Carey. A mistress with a servant’s heart, Joanna is expected to wed her father’s overseer, Phineas Reeves, but finds herself drawn instead to the new blacksmith. As their unlikely relationship deepens, successive tragedies strike the Careys. When blame falls unfairly upon Alex he flees to the distant mountains where he encounters Reverend Pauling, itinerate preacher and friend of the Careys, now a prisoner of the Cherokees. Haunted by his abandoning of Joanna, Alex tries to settle into life with the Cherokees, until circumstances thwart yet another attempt to forge his freedom and he’s faced with the choice that’s long hounded him: …

Book Review ~ Hearing God: Eliminate Myths, Encounter Meaning By Nathan Finochio

About the Book God is always speaking, perhaps in ways you haven’t considered. Learn how to truly listen. Imagine how different life would be if God regularly answered your most urgent questions. Now imagine that He has been…and you’ve just been missing His replies. You may have experienced that moment—whether in worship, in nature, or while reading Scripture—when you’ve sensed God speaking to you. And then, without explanation, the moment is gone, leaving you wanting more but unsure what to do. For everyone who desires to recognize God’s voice but has trouble hearing it—or even has trouble believing it’s possible to hear—this book is for you. Through biblical teaching and real-life stories, Hillsong New York teaching pastor, Nathan Finochio, helps you unlearn your wrong assumptions about God so you can experience Him as a Father who speaks to His sons and daughters. You’ll discover the nine myths that hinder our ability to hear God’s voice, the essential role of the Holy Spirit in discerning and overcoming these hindrances, and how to sustain life-giving conversation with …

Book Review ~ Dear Grandchild, This Is Me By Waterbrook Multnomah

About the Book Preseving the Family Legacy A Heartfelt Keepsake for Your Grandchild, Inspired by You Being a grandparent is a wonderfully rewarding experience. With this valuable keepsake, you can gift your voice and memories to future generations. Whether providing snapshots of your childhood, details of your heritage, or your declassified personal “secrets,” your grandchild will treasure this glimpse into your unique story. Category Non-fiction Genre Family/Legacy/Keepsake Rating 4 Stars Review Waterbrook Multnomah brings another piece that adds to the beauty and collection of family, keepsakes, and legacies. With this easy to use book, an individual could write their story, capturing experiences in photos, words, letters, and other materials that portray one’s steps in their journey of life. This makes for a more fun and intimate communication between the present and the future, bringing it to flesh in the most real and organic way. As with a journal but much deeper, you can tell your story through your eyes and personal tangibles, which is uniquely fresh. This Keepsake, in some ways, provides profound insight into …

Book Review ~ Core 52: A Fifteen-minute Daily Guide To Build Your Bible IQ In A Year By Mark E. Moore

About the Book Build your Bible IQ and Christian worldview in just fifteen minutes a day! Over the course of a year, Core 52 will help you master the 52 most important passages in the Bible.    “You will gain the tools you need for living the life God has called you to.”—Kyle Idleman, pastor and author of Not a Fan  “For physical training is of some value, but godliness has value for all things, holding promise for both the present life and the life to come.”—1 Timothy 4:8  Most of us want to know the Bible better, but few reach our goal, often because we’re too busy or we don’t know where to start. Core 52 removes both barriers, offering a common-sense solution that fits into our busy lives. Respected Bible professor and teaching pastor Mark E. Moore developed this proven process from thirty-five years of helping people grow deeper in God’s Word. Each week features a brief essay, memory verse, Bible story, trajectory verses, and practical ways to put what you’ve learned into practice. An optional “Overachiever Challenge” …

Book Review ~ American Omens By Travis Thrasher

About the Book “This is your wake-up call, Cheyenne. You’ve been sleeping your whole life, dreaming those dreams. The alarm clock is about to go off, and there won’t be any way to press the snooze button. So just keep walking. Keep breathing. And maybe start believing.” The year is 2038 and Cheyenne Burne is a brilliant young programmer working for Acatour, the world’s top technology firm. Her father converts to Christianity, and he suddenly disappears without trace. When a stranger hands Cheyenne a coded message that sends her on a collision course with a clandestine group of believers, she must put her life in the hands of those following a man known only as the Reckoner. He claims he wants to bring back true faith in Christ to America and also reveal the forces behind the disappearances of many of the renowned people who publicly declared their faith. Operating in the shadows and living off the grid, this mysterious prophet assembles a ragtag team, including a former bookseller whose store was shut down for …